For Immediate Release July 20, 2008

Contact: Frank Brewer, III President, Brewer Trophy Aviation Education Association, Washington, D.C. <a href="mailto:FrankGBrewer@aol.com">FrankGBrewer@aol.com</a>, (202) 280-6090

# 2008 UNITED STATES YOUNG AVIATION ARTIST CONTEST WINNERS ANNOUNCED

WASHINGTON, DC – The Brewer Trophy Aviation Education Association (BTAEA), in partnership with the American Society of Aviation Artists (ASAA) today announced the winners of 2008 United States Young Aviation Artist Contest. The announcement was made jointly by Frank G. Brewer, III, President of the Brewer Trophy Aviation Education Association, and Kristin Hill, President of the American Society of Aviation Artists. (LIST OF ALL NATIONAL AND STATE WINNERS ATTACHED.)

In the joint announcement Ms. Hill said "ASAA is delighted to collaborate with BTAEA in this contest which invites students, teachers, friends and families to focus on aviation and art. Both fields hold dynamic positions in our society and economy. Through contest participation the students develop skills of observation, conceptualization, imagination, communication and motor skill advancement. Additionally, aviation and art are inspiring and fun for every age! Congratulations to all."

Mr. Brewer said "I am very pleased with the interest shown nationwide in the **2008 United States Young Aviation Artist Contest.** Seeing the many entries from all grade levels indicates that the students and their sponsors affirm vitality in both the awareness and interest in Aviation Education. The Association's efforts to get the word out clearly contributed to the Art Contest's success. I am proud of all who entered, sponsored and mentored, and we thank everyone who participated for their contribution."

2008 is the first time that such a contest was jointly sponsored by the BTAEA, a national aviation education association, and ASAA, the national society of aviation artists. The contest squarely meets key principles of both organizations - for ASAA, "Aviation art documents historical events and technological achievements, while inspiring appreciation and support for aviation and aerospace, now and in the future," Hill said - and for BTAEA, "it enhances the promotion and growth of Aviation Education", Brewer added.

The 2008 contest theme asked students to "Design an Aviation Stamp" for any form of sporting or recreational aviation, including: ballooning, gliding, parachuting, aerobatics, hang-gliding, paragliding, ultralight/light aircraft, model aircraft and helicopter flying. Entries were judged in 3 classes:

- Group I (Date of birth between January 1st 1998 and December 31st 2001)
- Group II (Date of birth between January 1st 1994 and December 31st 1997)
- Group III (Date of birth between January 1st 1990 and December 31st 1993)

# **BEST OF SHOW**

# Katie Tiedemann – The Metamorphosis of Aviation New York Group III

# 2008 NATIONAL WINNERS LIST

_			
$\sim$			
(7	ro	ш	nı
•		•	~

- 1. Brandal Arnold Alaska Flyer
- 2. Steven R. Hansen Illinois *ST500*
- 3. Courtney Jones Pennsylvania Takeoff!

# Group II

- 1. Richard Bekeris Alaska Storm Cloud Flyer
- 2. Jacob Bullock Alabama U.S.A. Apache
- 3. Ashlinne Hickox Florida Space Adventure

# Group III

- 1. Sean Merritt Delaware Untitled
- 2. Bree Navarette Arizona An American Paradise
- 3. Julie Dambra Illinois Float

#### 2008 STATE WINNERS LIST

#### **ALABAMA**

#### Group II

- 1. Jacob Bullock *U.S.A. Apache*
- 2. Ryan Nelson Shoot to the Moon with Aviation
- 3. David McClure Untitled

### **ALASKA**

# Group I

- 1. Brandal Arnold Flyer
- 2. Brayden Pollow The Big Blue Plane
- 3. Madeline Quealey *Maddy's Pretty Rainbow Balloon*

# Group II

- 1. Richard Bekeris Storm Cloud Flyer
- 2. Misha Bekeris *The Crimson 'Copter*

#### **ARIZONA**

#### Group III

- 1. Bree Navarette An American Paradise
- 2. Brianna Byerlein Sunset Paradise
- 3. Josh Hansen Valley Helicopter Ride

#### **DELAWARE**

# Group III

- 1. Sean Merritt Untitled
- 2. Vincent Wolfe Silence is Golden

3. Alexandria H. Keedy – Float On

#### **FLORIDA**

**Group II** 

- 1. Yasmeen Chan Hang Gliding
- 2. Erika Stanfill Hot Air Balloon
- 3. Ashlinne Hickox *Space Adventure*

# **ILLINOIS**

Group I

1. Steven R. Hansen – *ST500* 

Group II

- 1. Branden Reich Daytona USA (3 Above)
- 2. Theresa Steinmeyer *Untitled*
- 3. Marisa Pater *The Sky's the Limit*

**Group III** 

- 1. Julie Dambra Float
- 2. Anna Walker Helicopter
- 3. Sarah Thompson *Flight in Motion*

**NEW MEXICO** 

Group III

Danielle Leyba – Freedom

**NEW YORK** 

**Group III** 

1. Katie Tiedemann – *The Metamorphosis of Aviation* 

OHIO

Group II

1. Molly Rains – We will be there

PENNSYLVANIA

Group I

1. Courtney Jones – *Takeoff!* 

**VIRGINIA** 

Group I

1. Emanuel Etienne – *Untitled* 

Group II

1. Joseph Girardi – *Freedom Flyer* 

#### ABOUT THE CONTEST SPONSORS

The American Society of Aviation Artists (ASAA) is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence and public appreciation of aerospace art. More about the rich heritage of ASAA is available on their website at <a href="https://www.asaa-avart.org">www.asaa-avart.org</a>

The Brewer Trophy Aviation Education Association is dedicated to Aviation Education for the public as well as all levels of education, teachers and students. Visit the website at www.brewertrophy.org for more information.

- end -